bi-monthly wrap up

In Books and Other Things // Jul-Aug

WORDS I READ

2,922

  • The Golem & The Jinni by Helene Wecker [5/5]*
  • The Iron King by Julie Kagawa [3/5]
  • The City of Brass by S.A. Chakraborty [5/5]
  • The Yellow on the Broom by Betsy Whyte [5/5] 
  • Smoke in the Sun by Renee Ahdieh [2.5/5]
  • To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han [4.5/5] (reread)
  • Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik [5/5]*

Both The Golem & The Jinni and Spinning Silver have cemented themselves into my list of Best Books Ever.

I have also accomplished the grand feat of finishing a non-fiction book from cover to cover thanks to the birthday present I received from my dear friend Oonagh Moon. The Yellow on the Broom

was a heartening and nostalgic exploration of my own childhood in tandem with the stark contrast and at the same time – so similar at its core to the simplicity living with nature and inseparable love of family – of Whyte’s days as a traveler in the Scottish highlands in the 1920’s and 30’s.

WORDS I WROTE

29,300

I DON’T KNOW HOW I DID IN JULY, BUT IN AUGUST I WROTE AN ACTUAL BOOK!

tenor

Oh, and here are some excerpts from my writing diary

NOTABLE BLOG POSTS
  • Oonagh Moon’s entire blog! Now that the cold months are drawing close, my beloved CP and highland queen is coming out from hibernation. I am lapping up all this quality content!
  • Lit CelebrAsian has a list of New Releases by Asian Authors for September out now.
  • Theodora Goss has a post up and I’d read anything by this lady, honestly.
  • My friend Ekho announced the the September book for their Bookclub Hexlibris which is a fantastic place to find diverse gems, especially those less known. Be sure to check it out.
DRAMA RECOMMENDATIONS

July/August

Korean

  • WHAT’S WRONG WITH SECRETARY KIM? ~ Romcom/Workplace {14/16} // ★★★★★
  • ARE YOU HUMAN, TOO? ~ Romcom/Scifi {36/36} // ★★★★ [4.5]
  • LET’S EAT SEASON 3 ~ Food/Romcom {14/14} // ★★ [2.5]

Japanese

  • CONFIDENCE MAN ~ Heist {10/10} // ★★★★★ New Favourite
  • GAKEPPUCHI HOTEL ~ Workplace {10/10} // ★★★★ [4.5]

How was your summer reading and writing?

Leave a comment